In a nutshell

 

Vision 2025

In 2025, Hamburg@work and its DigitalCluster.Hamburg will be networking those businesses that provide the transformation for the focus clusters on a participatory basis, along digital value chains, to enable a cross-technology digital platform for users and suppliers in the business and administration context for the smart city Hamburg.

 

Shooting for the moon

In the big-thinking lingo of Silicon Valley, the “moonshot” is also known as an MTP – a massive transformative purpose. This highly aspirational tagline is the thing you get out of bed for every morning. An MTP represents not only what is possible in the extreme case from the present perspective, but the thing that we want to be different in the future.

“The network for a new world” is the tagline that Hamburg@work has chosen. We get up every morning with the aim of creating the network for a new world: digital, future-oriented, inspirational, and driven by a sense of being on a mission.

 


Mission statement

 

 Within the DIGITALCLUSTER.HAMBURG, Hamburg@work brings together EXPERTISE for the DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION – and has been doing so for 20 years.The members willingly share that KNOWLEDGE with their own NETWORK and with COOPERATING CLUSTERS in a spirit of participation and in an open CULTURE OF INNOVATION.

 

Digital transformation involves the digitalization and automation of core processes, including changing the framework conditions for the economy, the state and society. The most important prerequisite is the readiness to accept essential changes. For a digital transformation to succeed, businesses, employees and management as well as social systems need to be toughened up.

 


20 years of Hamburg@work

With 20 years of experience in networking companies from the media, IT and telecommunications, Hamburg@work celebrated a landmark with its 20th Anniversary Future Summit in fall 2017 and at the same time gave the go-ahead for its very own transformation of the brand Hamburg@work:20 years down the road, the formerly vertical Hamburg-media.net is now the horizontal DigitalCluster.Hamburg.

 

Smart city model

Prof. Dr. Henning Völpel, Managing Director of HWWI Hamburgisches WeltWirtschaftsinstitut, expressed the model as follows at the first Future Summit of Hamburg@work: “The vision of a smart city is one where we have a fantastic city that is worth living in, where noise now barely exists – unless we actually want noise. Is emission-free. Champions participation. Offers rich opportunities for people. In other words inspires the city’s entire population, the city’s entire society, gives them access to better health care and better education. Urban mobility plays a role.”

”That is maybe a Utopian view of a smart city,” opines Prof. Völpel, “but probably a technologically feasible one.”

Hamburg@work is doing its part to realize the vision of Hamburg as a smart city.


Structure and participations

Since the association was established on 13 August 1997 as Förderkreis Multimedia e.V., Hamburg@work has evolved into a small business group. As early as 2001 a fully-owned subsidiary limited company was founded and has since handled the association’s project business. The association and limited company were renamed Hamburg@work in 2006.

With the establishment of Neptun Award GmbH in August 2015, the organization and staging of Hamburg@work’s successful Neptun Award was handed over to another subsidiary limited company in which the association Hamburg@work holds 37.2% of the shares.

In addition to the corporate-law participations the IT Executive Club of Hamburg@work was set up in 2015 as an association arm, followed by Hamburg@work’s Women’s Club in 2016. Further club divisions are taking shape.

From the start of the 2016 financial year, all operational tasks were transferred from the association to Hamburg@work GFM mbH, as were the association’s employees. As a membership organization, the association Hamburg@work (e.V.) is the “parent company”, while Hamburg@work GFM mbH provides all services for the members, fulfills the economic purpose and performs the operational tasks of Hamburg@work, and holds the participations in other companies.

In a Nutshell

 

Vision 2025

In 2025 wird Hamburg@work mit seinem DigitalCluster.Hamburg diejenigen Unternehmen entlang digitaler Wertschöpfungsketten vernetzen, die die Transformation in den Focus-Clustern partizipativ bereitstellen und so eine technologieübergreifende Digitalplattform für Anwender und Anbieter im Kontext von Wirtschaft und Verwaltung für die Smart City Hamburg ermöglichen.

 

Shooting for the Moon

In der Big-Thinking-Lingo des Silicon Valleys wird der sogenannte „Moonshot“ auch „MTP - Massive Transformative Purpose“ genannt. Diese „Highly Aspirational Tagline" ist etwas, für das man jeden Morgen aufsteht. Ein MTP steht dabei nicht für das, was aus heutiger Sicht im äußersten Fall möglich ist, sondern für etwas, von dem wir wollen, dass es in Zukunft anders sein soll.

„Das Netzwerk für eine neue Welt“ ist die Tagline, für die sich Hamburg@work entschieden hat. Wir stehen jeden Morgen auf, um das Netzwerk für eine neue Welt zu schaffen: Digital, zukunftsorientiert, inspirativ und davon getrieben, eine Mission zu verfolgen.

 


Mission Statement

 

 Im DIGITALCLUSTER.HAMBURG bündelt Hamburg@work EXPERTISE für die DIGITALE TRANSFORMATION und das seit 20 Jahren. Dieses WISSEN geben die Mitglieder des Clusters gerne, partizipativ und in offener INNOVATIONSKULTUR im eigenen NETZWERK und an die KOOPERIERENDER CLUSTER weiter.

 

Digitale Transformation beinhaltet die Digitalisierung und Automatisierung von Kernprozessen, einschließlich der Veränderung der Rahmenbedingungen in Wirtschaft, Staat und Gesellschaft. Die Bereitschaft zu erforderlichen Veränderungen ist die wichtigste Voraussetzung. Eine erfolgreiche Digitale Transformation erfordert die Ertüchtigung der Unternehmen, Mitarbeiter und Führungskräfte sowie der gesellschaftlichen Systeme.

 


20 Jahre Hamburg@work

Mit 20 Jahren Erfahrung in Vernetzung von Unternehmen aus Medien, IT und Telekommunikation hat Hamburg@work mit seinem 20th Anniversary Future Summit im Herbst 2017 einen inhaltlichen Wendepunkt markiert und damit den Startschuss für eine ganz eigene Transformation der Marke Hamburg@work gegeben: Das ehemals vertikale Hamburg-media.net ist nach 20 Jahren nun das horizontale DigitalCluster.Hamburg.

 

Leitbild Smart City

Prof. Dr. Henning Völpel, Geschäftsführender Direktor HWWI Hamburgisches WeltWirtschaftsinstitut, hat auf dem ersten Future Summit von Hamburg@work das Leitbild wie folgt formuliert: „Die Vision einer Smart City ist, dass wir eine tolle, lebenswerte Stadt haben, in der kaum noch Lärm existiert; es sei denn, wir wollen Lärm. Die emissionsfrei ist. Die sehr partizipativ ist. Die chancenreich ist für die Menschen. Also die gesamte Stadtbevölkerung, die gesamte Stadtgesellschaft mitnimmt, beteiligt an besserer Gesundheitsversorgung und an besserer Bildung. Urbane Mobilität spielt eine Rolle.“

„Das ist vielleicht eine Utopie für eine Smart City“, meint Prof. Völpel, „aber wohl eine technologisch mögliche“.

Hamburg@work tut das Seine, die Vision einer Smart City Hamburg zu erreichen.


Struktur und Beteiligungen

Seit Gründung des Vereins am 13. August 1997 als Förderkreis Multimedia e.V., hat sich Hamburg@work zu einer kleinen Unternehmensgruppe entwickelt. Bereits 2001 wurde eine 100%ige GmbH-Tochter gegründet, die fortan das Projektgeschäft des Vereins gestaltet hat. Die Umbenennung von Verein und GmbH in Hamburg@work erfolgte im Jahr 2006.

Mit Gründung der Neptun Award GmbH im August 2015 wurde die Organisation und Durchführung des erfolgreichen Neptun Awards von Hamburg@work an eine weitere GmbH-Tochter übertragen, an der der Verein Hamburg@work 37,2% Geschäftsanteile hält.

Neben den gesellschaftsrechtlichen Beteiligungen wurden im Jahr 2015 der IT-Executive von Hamburg@work als Vereinssparte gegründet und im Jahr 2016 Hamburg@work‘s Women’s Club. Weitere Club-Sparten sind im Entstehen.

Mit Beginn des Geschäftsjahres 2016 wurden alle operativen Aufgaben vom Verein an die Hamburg@work GFM mbH übertragen und auch die Mitarbeiter des Vereins in die GmbH übergeleitet. Als Mitgliederorganisation ist der Verein Hamburg@work (e.V.) die „Muttergesellschaft“, während die Hamburg@work GFM mbH sämtliche Leistungen für die Mitglieder erbringt, den wirtschaftlichen Zweck und operative Aufgaben von Hamburg@work erfüllt und die Beteiligungen an anderen Gesellschaften hält.