Everyone is feeling the impact of digitalization and globalization on society and the world of work. According to Boston Consulting Group, around eight million employees will be affected by technological change by 2025. Meanwhile Germany’s population is getting older – and the birth rate is falling. One thing is certain: Every aspect of working life will be permanently changed by digital disruption and demographic change.



Labor market of the future

For some, looking ahead to the future is initially a source of worry because many job profiles will change beyond recognition or disappear altogether. But new professions will also take shape. However most experts are relaxed about the prospects for the coming decades: Despite the huge changes, humans will remain irreplaceable in the world of Industry 4.0. Constant innovation and social change will lead to the emergence of professions that do not yet exist.


Leadership culture

But bosses, too, will need to adopt a new way of thinking; both start-ups and major corporations are capable of pointing the way forward. Instead of the steep hierarchies of the past, agile leadership and iterative process management are what is now needed. Only those who display flexibility in corporate leadership will be capable of maneuvering a business through a society undergoing a transformation. That also involves taking the risk to use new technologies. Cultural diversity and a high degree of employee motivation will also determine economic success in a constantly evolving international market.


Workplace

The digital nomad is a shining example of the job of the future. With notebook under their arm, their workplace is wherever they have access to a stable Wi-Fi connection. That might be in co-working spaces, but also cafés or on the ICE train between Hamburg and Berlin. That is why it is imperative for countries to embrace the trend and expand their digital infrastructure in order to be an attractive destination for the employees of the future.

Die Auswirkungen von Digitalisierung und Globalisierung auf Gesellschaft und Arbeitswelt sind für jeden spürbar. Laut Boston Consulting Group werden bis 2025 etwa acht Millionen Beschäftigte vom technologischen Wandel betroffen sein. Gleichzeitig wird die Bevölkerung Deutschlands immer älter – bei sinkender Geburtenrate. Sicher ist: das Arbeitsleben wird sich in allen Facetten durch die digitale Disruption und den demografischen Wandel nachhaltig verändern.



Arbeitsmarkt der Zukunft

Für einige ist der Blick in die Zukunft erst einmal beängstigend, denn viele Berufsbilder werden kaum wiederzuerkennen sein oder gänzlich verschwinden. Aber auch neue Berufe enstehen. Ein großer Teil der Experten gibt sich in Anbetracht der nächsten Jahrzehnte jedoch gelassen: Trotz der großen Veränderungen wird der Mensch auch in der Industrie 4.0 unersetzlich bleiben. Stete Innovation und gesellschaftliche Veränderungen werden Berufe entstehen lassen, die heute noch nicht existieren.


Führungskultur

Aber auch Chefs müssen umdenken und nicht nur StartUps, auch moderne Großkonzerne zeigen den Weg. Wo früher steile Hierarchien herrschten, sind nun agile Führung und iteratives Prozessmanagement gefragt. Nur wer in der Unternehmensführung Flexibilität an den Tag legt, wird in der Lage sein, ein Unternehmen durch eine sich transformierende Gesellschaft zu manövrieren. Dabei gilt es auch Risiken einzugehen, neue Technologien anzuwenden. Auch kulturelle Vielfalt und ein hohes Maß an Mitarbeitermotivation werden auf einem sich ständig weiterentwickelnden internationalen Markt über den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg entscheiden.


Arbeitsplatz

Der Digital Nomad ist wohl das Paradebeispiel für den Job der Zukunft. Mit dem Notebook unter dem Arm ist sein Arbeitsplatz überall dort, wo ein zuverlässiges WLAN zur Verfügung steht. Das können Co-Working-Spaces aber auch Cafés oder der ICE zwischen Hamburg und Berlin sein. Deshalb ist es auch zwingend notwendig, dass Länder dem Trend folgen und ihre digitale Infrastruktur ausbauen, um ein attraktives Anlaufziel für die Arbeitnehmer Arbeitnehmerinnen der Zukunft zu sein.